The Corridors of Reminiscence – American University of Sharjah : Endings and New Beginnings

 

Today was the last day of my final exam on the campus of ‘The American University of Sharjah’.

With all honesty, I had a disheartening feeling throughout the day with this overwhelming discernment that my university life as an undergrad student is over.

Firstly, I have so many wonderful memories associated with this university and a part of me did not want to accept the fact that I have graduated.

Moreover,  I loved living in my beautiful bubble of scurrying for classes, stressing out over exams, annoying professors with my random questions and discussing life with my colleagues

I do not know why I had an eerie sense of dejection as I roamed around the corridors and noted everything around me for one last time.

Perhaps, it is because I know that this place is not going to be a part of my everyday life anymore. 

I felt gloomy and I also felt an energy rush of nostalgia within my body. I kept staring at the corridors for several minutes recounting the moments where I bumped into my highly inspirational and educated professors or colleagues that waved  me or gave a nod of appreciation for my sudden presence.

I was not going to see them ever again. The chances of running into them were slim and it was just not going to be the same again.

They were small segments or snippets of my movie and I was a small snippet in their movie. 

I would like to thank this institution for the several lessons I learnt in life through the people I met and more importantly ; I am very thankful that I was bestowed with the opportunity to actually interact with the highly esteemed, well educated and understanding professors of my university. 

As the realisation of my graduation makes a sturdy position in my thoughts, I identified with a periodical ending . A chapter of my life is indeed over.


“So what will the next chapter of my life look like?”, a momentarily question pops up in my reverie.  Well, the answer to that will be known to me with time.

And endings? We all have to end chapters in our everyday life as it is a part and parcel of change and transformation that is inevitable.

Cowards die many times before their deaths.
The valiant never taste of death but once.
Of all the wonders that I yet have heard,
It seems to me most strange that men should fear,
Seeing that death, a necessary end,
Will come when it will come.

– Julius Caesar 2.2.32-7

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

